CCMS

Center for Computational Materials Science
Institute for Materials Research,
Tohoku University

Past News

  1. Past News (2019)
  2. Past News (2018)

News (2018)

2018/12/21

[ for super computing system users ]

The Center news No.30 (in Japanese) is published.

2018/12/17

[ supercomputing system in the period of year-end and new year holidays ]

Dec. 28 (Fri.), 2018, 17:00 -- Jan. 7 (Mon.), 2019, 9:00
The supercomputing system continues to operate during the above periods. However, the administrators cannot help you immediately when you have any troubles.

2018/12/ 4

[ maintenance operation of SINET network ]

Due to the maintenance operation of a Japanese academic backbone network, network communication from outside of Tohoku University may be interrupted during the following period.
Service suspension period:
 Dec. 5 (Wed.) 12:00 -- 13:00, 2018

2018/11/12

[ maintenance operation of the supercomputing system ]

Service suspension period of the supercomputing system:
 Nov. 26 (Mon.) 9:00 -- Nov. 29 (Thu.) 10:00, 2018
Service suspension period:
 Nov. 26 (Mon.) 16:30 -- Nov. 28 (Wed.) 14:00, 2018

2018/ 9/11

[ maintenance operation of the supercomputing system ]

Service suspension period: Sep. 25 (Tue.) 9:00 -- Sep. 26 (Wed.) 10:00, 2018

2018/ 8/ 1

[ supercomputing system in the period of the summer vacation ]

Aug. 10 (Fri.), 17:00 -- Aug. 20 (Mon.), 9:00, 2018
The supercomputing system will be available as usual during the above term. However, the administrators cannot help you immediately when you have any trouble.

2018/ 8/ 1

[ Service suspention of the supercomputing system ]

Service suspension period:
Aug. 3 (Fri.), 12:00 -- Aug. 6 (Mon.), 16:00, 2018
Because of power outage on August 5 (Sun.), we will stop the supercomputing system.

2018/ 5/31

[ for supercomputing system users ]

The Center news No.29 (in Japanese) is published.

2017/12/27

[ update of the supercomputing system ]

We are planning to update the supercomputing system from the middle of April in 2018.

1. Update schedule

End of present supercomputing system : Apr. 12 (Thu.) 9:00, 2018
Start of new supercomputing system (schedule) : Aug. 1 (Wed.) 13:00, 2018

We will cancel all running and pending jobs at April 1st and one cannot run any jobsafter April 1st, 2018. However, one can login to the supercomputing system and download own data until April 11.

2. Outline of the new supercomputing system

Please see new_system.pdf.

3. Data transfer

We will transfer data on one’s home directory except for SAS areas (/home/UID/sassuper and /home/UID/sasapp) to the new supercomputing system. If one needs data on SAS areas, be sure to download by the end of supercomputing system service.

2017/12/21

[ for super computing system users ]

The Center news No.28 (in Japanese) is published.